Blues and News: Freebase Ain’t Free

This episode aired on Sunday, March 12th, 2018. Holle Thee Maxwell returned to the program to discuss her new book, “Freebase Ain’t Free” which is slated to release in the Fall. The book talks about her experiences with the late Ike Turner and provides a different perspective on his character. Below is the playlist from the show:

Midnight Creeper – Luther Allison
Blues Power – Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown
Flamin’ Mamie – Koko Taylor
Reap What You Sow – Otis Rush
My Babe – Little Walter
Proud Mary – Holle Thee Maxwell
Black Names Ringing – Chicago Beau
Only When You’re Lonely – Holle Thee Maxwell
God Bless THEE Child – Holle Thee Maxwell
I’m an Old Dog – Latimore
Sue – Bobby Rush
Stealin’ Your Love – Deitra Farr
Turn On Your Love Light – Bobby “Blue” Bland
We’ll Meet Again – John Lee Hooker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s